Monday, October 19, 2020
Home » Schools & Colleges » School of Business & Management » Information Science & Systems » Four Morgan State Students Named as University Innovation Fellows

Four Morgan State Students Named as University Innovation Fellows

Morgan State University has added to its number of student leaders with four new Morgan scholars named University Innovation Fellows. The addition of the latest inductees brings Morgan’s count of students pinned as Fellows to 28. Among those, 26 are enrolled as students and two have since graduated.

Administered by Stanford University’s Hasso Plattner Institute of Design, the University Innovation Fellows program takes applicants through a rigorous training before returning them to their home campuses empowered to become agents of change at their university. Those who complete the program are enriched by the experience and inspired to become student leaders, leveraging innovation, entrepreneurship and design skills to uncover opportunities to enhance the campus experience for their peers.

The new Fellows include: 

  • Kofi Afriyie, Civil Engineering, Junior
  • Rashae Hilson, Information Systems and Science, Sophomore
  • Oluwakayode Jasanya, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Sophomore
  • Tobiloba Komolafe, Electrical Engineering, Junior

Morgan’s new Fellows are among 224 students from 58 higher education institutions in seven countries to be selected. To-date, the program has trained 1,000 students at 185 schools to be leaders on their campuses.

University Innovation Fellows are a national community of scholars leading a movement to ensure that all students gain the necessary attitudes, skills and knowledge required to compete in the economy of the future. These student leaders from schools around the country create new opportunities that help their peers develop an entrepreneurial mindset, build creative confidence, seize opportunities, define problems and address global challenges.

Fellows are creating student innovation spaces, founding entrepreneurship organizations, hosting experiential events and working with faculty and administrators to develop courses. They also serve as advocates for lasting institutional change and represent their schools at national events. The program was created as part of the National Center for Engineering Pathways to Innovation (Epicenter), which offers a five-year National Science Foundation grant.

Dr. Mary K. Foster, an associate professor in the Earl G. Graves School of Business and Management, serves as the University Innovation Fellows faculty sponsor at Morgan.

Click to learn more about the Morgan State University Fellows’ student priorities!

Check Also

Graves Business School

Morgan MBA Student Earns Industry Scholarship Award

The regional Chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) announced that Graves School of …

ESR Library

Morgan State University Receives Grant of Nearly $250,000 to Support Research of Pioneering Black Anthropologist Ellen Irene Diggs

Personal Papers of the Late Morgan Faculty Great Provide Humanities Education, Career Experience for Students …