Monday, June 24, 2024
Home » News » Three Morgan State University Students Recognized as Extreme Science Scholars

Three Morgan State University Students Recognized as Extreme Science Scholars

September 10, 2015 – Today, Oreoluwa Adesina, Hashmath Fathima and Dennis Aryee were recognized in a ceremony as Extreme Science Scholars (ESS). The ceremony was hosted by Dr. Alvin Kennedy, Interim Dean of School of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences (SCMNS), with special guests, Dr. Lori Graham-Brady, Associate Director of the Hopkins Extreme Materials Institute at Johns Hopkins University, and Dr. John Beatty, Senior Materials Researcher at the Army Research Laboratory.

The ESS program supports Morgan State University students with funding provided by the Army Research Laboratory based on special interest by the Maryland Congressional delegation. Morgan State University ESS program students are at the graduate and/or undergraduate level and pursuing a math, science, engineering or technology degree. The recipients for this year’s ESS program will receive tuition support for this academic year. This program represents an investment in the future generation of scientists and engineers within the state of Maryland who will hopefully go onto careers in the government, academia and industry.

The ESS program is an expansion of the current Extreme Science Internship (ESI) program. The ESI program is central to the development of SCMNS Comprehensive Integrated Pathways for Education and Research (CIPER) framework. CIPER provides exposure to research for students from K-12 through the graduate level. ESI provides Morgan STEM graduate and undergraduate students, research experiences with Morgan faculty during the academic year. Which prepares them to spend 8-15 weeks performing research activities at one of 15 institutions affiliated with the Center for Materials in Extreme Dynamic Environments within the Hopkins Extreme Materials Institute.


Check Also

Tomorrow's Innovators

Bristol Myers Squibb Taps Morgan State University to Launch ‘Tomorrow’s Innovators’ BioPharma Education and Workforce Pipeline Initiative

MSU is Among Five HBCUs Selected for Partnership to Create Custom Biopharma Educational Programming and …

West Campus

Morgan Professor Awarded National Endowment for the Humanities Grant to Enhance Literary and Cultural Hispanic Studies

Uncovering the Transcendent Humanity in Mid-Modern and Modern Hispanic Fiction Storytelling is the cornerstone of …