Saturday, June 22, 2024
Home » News » Faculty & Staff » Morgan’s Dean Emeritus and Regent Receive 2019 NSB Public Service Award
Dr. Eugene DeLoatch and Tyrone Taborn

Morgan’s Dean Emeritus and Regent Receive 2019 NSB Public Service Award

National Science Foundation and National Science Board Honors Dr. Eugene DeLoatch and Tyrone Taborn for Service in STEM

The National Science Board (NSB), in association with the National Science Foundation, recently awarded Eugene DeLoatch, Ph.D. and Tyrone Taborn the 2019 NSB Public Service Award. This esteemed award honors exemplary service in promoting public understanding of science and engineering.

Credited with producing more black engineers than any other person in the history of U.S. higher education, Dr. DeLoatch was the inaugural dean for Morgan’s Clarence M. Mitchell, Jr. School of Engineering, serving from its establishment in 1984 until his official retirement in 2018. He currently serves in the capacity of dean emeritus. Taborn, publisher and chief executive officer of Career Communications Group, Inc., currently serves on Morgan’s Board of Regents. Together, they have been recognized for their career-long contributions to the advancement of STEM in various capacities including founding the Black Engineer of the Year Awards (BEYA) conference and for their dedication to enhancing scientific and engineering literacy in minority communities.

Dr. Eugene DeLoatch
Dr. Eugene DeLoatch

As Maryland’s Preeminent Public Urban Research University, Morgan is widely celebrated for its advanced curricula and highly proficient faculty in STEM and related fields. It is through the cumulative efforts of ardent faculty and the unwavering support of the University’s greater community, that Morgan continues to cement its position among intensive research institutions.

Combining DeLoatch’s exceptional reach and impact in academia and Taborn’s creative capabilities in strategic communications, this team elevated the importance of producing and recognizing underrepresented minorities in science and engineering to a national level. Their annual BEYA event is recognized for having increased the enrollment of minorities in engineering programs across the country, enhanced scientific and engineering literacy in minority communities, and opened the doors to discovery and innovation among broad segments of our nation’s minority populations.

“As a team and individually, Eugene DeLoatch and Tyrone Taborn have spent much of their lives working to ensure that all Americans have equal opportunities to excel in science and engineering,” said Kent Fuchs, chair of the NSB’s Committee on Honorary Awards. “Their work has significantly contributed to our nation’s global leadership in science, engineering, and technology, ensuring that the best and brightest in our communities have pathways to success.”

Throughout his many years of service in higher education degree programs, DeLoatch has led the nation in the production of African American electrical and civil engineers at the baccalaureate level. His students have gone on to senior positions in government, industry, and academia, and have, in turn, influenced and encouraged another generation of minority scientists and engineers. DeLoatch’s efforts have led to numerous honors and recognitions throughout his career. Notably, in 2001 he became the first African American elected to serve as president of the American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE).

Tyrone Taborn
Tyrone Taborn

“We are part of history in the making, and I thank you for honoring the BEYA Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) Global Competitiveness Conference,” said DeLoatch.  “As a proud member of the host committee and Council of Engineering Deans of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), our intent has always been to impact the aspirations of young people positively. With its 34-year history, the BEYA STEM Conference is unlike any other. Once again we thank you for honoring us on this occasion and trust you agree with us on the mutual value that has been added through this event.”

Taborn founded Career Communications Group, Inc. in 1980 to highlight the technical achievements of underrepresented minorities. He developed and published US Black Engineer Magazine, now known as US Black Engineer & Information Technology Magazine. That publication has been the main vehicle to showcase the accomplishments of underrepresented groups in STEM and serves as a vehicle for the discussion of broad science and engineering policies as they affect underrepresented groups, including the hiring of minority scientists and engineers across the spectrum as well as retention and promotion of underrepresented scientists and engineers at the professional level.

“This is a very great honor, said Taborn. “We know that there is hard work still ahead, but we can take a moment to revel in the celebration of milestones passed. Together, we’ve moved the train of opportunity along. As we have done for the past 35 years, Career Communications Group, Inc.’s US Black Engineer magazine, the Council of Engineering Deans of HBCUs, BEYA sponsors, institutions, and trusted individuals across America, the BEYA STEM Conference will continue to celebrate the achievements of African Americans and minorities in STEM careers and promote better access to young people who are left behind.”

Congratulations to Dr. Eugene DeLoatch and Tyrone Taborn for your commendation and longstanding commitment to Morgan State University, STEM and creating channels of access for career advancement.

Check Also


Morgan State University to Address Workforce Inequities With Overhaul of Employee Classifications and Wages

MSU Board Approves University’s Conversion of Contractual Employees to Full-time With Benefits and Increases Minimum Wage …

West Campus

Morgan Professor Awarded National Endowment for the Humanities Grant to Enhance Literary and Cultural Hispanic Studies

Uncovering the Transcendent Humanity in Mid-Modern and Modern Hispanic Fiction Storytelling is the cornerstone of …