Thursday, September 28, 2023

Undergraduate Architecture and Environmental Design Students Win 2015 AIA Maryland Design Awards

At the annual Excellence in Design Awards celebration on September 18, the American Institute of Architects in Maryland recognized the students of the SA+P Undergraduate Architecture and Environmental Design Program as Student Design Award Winners of both Undergraduate categories with an additional Jury Citation Award.

Congratulations to the winning entries!

Prince Langley
Undergraduate / Upper Level Design


The Beanstalk Market
Design Studio, Spring 2015
Professor Isaac Williams

Jury Comments:
The thoroughness of the investigation is evident in the strong concept and is successfully reinforced through the planning to the final design resolution. An iconic form and powerful public space is created as a result of a sophisticated integration of the building into a challenging site.  The jury was impressed by the refined professional level presentation.

Alaina Gentles
Undergraduate / Beginning Design

FYI-AIAMD-2Off The Cliff
Design Studio, Spring 2015
Professors Adam Bridge and David Lopez

Jury Comments:
Beautiful hand sketches compliment a compelling presentation that captures the essence of a powerful integration of architecture and site that reinforces the natural vistas of a spectacular location.

Bryan Asson
Undergraduate / Upper Level Design

FYI-AIAMD-3Folded Duality
Design Studio, Fall 2014
Professor Kuo Pao Lian

Jury Comments:
The dichotomy of the architecture creates a powerful image through the stark contrast to the existing neighborhood. This exploration of strong form making architecture is applauded.

Check Also

Andre Johnson

School of Architecture & Planning Alum receives Architecture Record’s 2021 Design Vanguard Award

Based in Raleigh, North Carolina, where he grew up, architect Andre L. Johnson, 47, designs …

Matthew Watkins

AIA Baltimore Fellows & BAF Leadership Award Presented to Morgan State University Junior, Matthew Watkins

The AIA Baltimore Fellows & BAF Leadership award supports Bachelor of Science in Architecture and …